Tag Archives: Naxos

Works for Violin and Percussion

For a unique combination of violin + percussion orchestra, pioneered by Harrison–very interesting!

Italian Guitar Rarities

Various musical eras, Baroque to modern. Play!

Christos Tzifakis–Flamenco Odyssey

Contemporary works for guitar + accompaniment, varied. Play!

Kemal Belevi–Cypriana

Modern & contemporary works for violin + guitar. Play!

Alchemy–New Music for Trumpet & Orchestra

Modern & contemporary music for trumpet, varied!

Digital Mist

American, Modern works for violin + piano. Nice!

Derek Bermel–Intonations

For clarinet, electric guitar or harmonica, quirky, comedic and a bit off key. Fun!

Konstantin Vassiliev–Guitar Works Vol. 1

Mostly contemporary pieces, rhythmically varied. Play!

Ex Aequo

Gracious transcriptions of works Baroque to modern for flute + guitar. Play!

Takashi Yoshimatsu–Piano Works for the Left Hand

Lyrical, Impressionistic solo piano, some jazz. Play!

Feel the Moment

Lyrical, mostly quiet pieces for 1 or 2 guitars. Play!

George Enescu–Piano Quartet No. 1

Two works varied in tempo, lyrical or powerful.

Malpiero, Ghedini–Cello Concertos

Pieces from 1930’3 to 1951, modern varied, some stridency.

Nine Trumpets and One Piano

Varied contemporary works for trumpet, brass and/or piano. Play!

Two Marimbas in Berlin

Baroque to modern transcriptions for marimba. Play!

The Birth of Life

Gracious, Romantic flute + piano works. Play!

Bows Up! Portuguese Music for Strings

Varied string works from 1900’s and 2000’s.

Mikolalojus Ciurlionis–On the Harp Strings

Originally composed for piano, here transcribed for harp–Romantic, lovely!

Mieczyslaw Weinberg–Chamber Symphonies Nos. 2 & 4

Symphony No. 2 is dark, reflecting post WWII experiences. Symphony No. 4 is gracious and strong.

Eric Coates–Springtime Suite

From a very popular British composer of “light classical”, cosy and sweet works for sax and orchestra.

Roots–21st Century Greek Music for Guitar

Contemporary guitar, some with voice, varied.

Towards the Flame–Eccentric Piano Works

Not so eccentric. Modern piano works by Scriabin and Langgaard. Lyrical.

Ermanno Wolf-Ferrari–Complete Overtures & Intermezzi

Known for his comic operas, these are comic, boisterous pieces for orchestra.

Astor Piazzolla–Histoire du Tango

For flute & guitar, transcriptions of Piazzolla’s well-know works.

Latin American Dances

Modern works arranged for sax + piano–excellent!