Category Rock

CreepXotica (Dionysus) Haunted Bossa Nova-

Side project of Surf Punk band the Creepy Creeps, these are throwback tunes for the Ultra-Lounge crowd. Like a soundtrack to a 1960s spy movie or Tiki bar music! Try:ALL RIYL: the electric martini lounge, surf rock  *TB Favs Advertisements

Nahko (SideOneDummy) My Name is Bear

Solo release from Nahko really highlights his vocal talents. Heartfelt, romantic, uplifting, positive vibes. Festival Music!! Try: 1,4,9,10 RIYL: Twiddle, Fink, Dreamy Male Vocals, Singer Songwriter types FCC: 3

Cloakroom – Time Well

Sludgey, dreamy, shoegaze that feels like you’re being enveloped in a heavy blanket of cathartic noise and guitars. Evokes a similar metal-influenced sound to 90s Alternative Rock outfit, Hum. Play: 1, 2. 6, FCC: Cean RIYL: Hum, Swervedriver, Nothing, Slowdive  

Alyeska – Crush

Emotional indie rock tracks that are full of energy. Clear, lovely vocals, with dreamy guitar riffs. Ayeska’s music is simultaneously vulnerable and powerful. Cathartic, moving, and perfect music for traveling, especially if you’re zooming through snowy mountain ranges. Play: 1, 2, 5 FCC: Clean RIYL: Mitski, DIIV, Soccer Mommy

Walter Etc. – Gloom Cruise

Laid-back California tunes for easy listening, with honest, sometimes melancholic lyrics. Great for chilling and feelin’ feelings whether you’re lying on the beach or lying in bed. FCC:10 Play: 2, 3, 5 RIYL: Teen Suicide, Pavement, LVL UP

Worriers – Survival Pop [SideOneDummy]

Raw vocals and organic instramentals combine contently for a lighter take on some classic punk rock vibes. Label: SideOneDummy Start w/: 3, 6, 12 FCC: 2,7 RIYL: Sleater-kinny, Rainer Maria, Against Me!

Björk – Utopia

Björk in her supreme glory, as we know and love her, with help from Arca. This album is full of whimsical flute, nature sounds, lyrics of love, and an imaginative, almost Alice-In-Wonderland kind of atmosphere. Give this a play if you’re ready for the strange and intriguing, and you if you like a good love […]


Reptaliens new album FM-2030 is a blend of synth pop and psychedelic rock. Analog synths and crisp electric guitar fill this album with psychedelic dreamscapes. Great music to kick back and relax to. FCC: Clean Try: 1,4,8


A Swedish post-punk band, Makthaverkskan released their latest album III. A cohesive album with thought-provoking lyrics. The lead singer Maja Milner echoes her way through the album in a refreshing and original manner. FCC: Clean RIYL: Savages, Priests TRY: 3, 5, 6


Cartwheel by Kirk Ross is an album consisting of love songs. Soulful acoustic guitar on each track. Ross dedicates this album to his wife Patricia Liverman. FCC: Clean RIYL: Damien Jurado, A.A Bondy PLAY: 1,4,7


Cold Speaks new album Fools Paradise is a very soulful and personal album. Each song has an emotional feel that paints a vivid picture. Perfect to play on a rainy day. FCC: Clean RIYL: Feist, Tash Sultana PLAY: 2, 6, 9


Goofy Christmas songs related to politics, mental health and breakups. Play to give your listeners a laugh. FCC: Clean PLAY: 1, 4, 8, 9

Mura Masa – Mura Masa [Polydor Records]

Mura Masa’s debut album, Mura Masa, features a huge guest list, including Charli XCX, Bonzai, A$AP Rocky, and more. The electronic pop DJ has used amazing beats and catchy choruses to great this amazing, underrated album. Label: Polydor Records Start w/ 1, 4, 9, 10, 11 FCC: Clean RIYL: Sam Gellaitry, Cashmere Cat, Charli XCX, A$AP Rocky, […]

Sufjan Stevens – The Greatest Gift [Asthmatic Kitty]

Sufjan Stevens latest release, The Greatest Gift, features outages, remixes, demos, and unreleased tracks. This is an awesome indie folk release for the artist. Label: Asthmatic Kitty Start w/ 3, 7, 8, 11 FCC: Clean RIYL: Iron and Wine, Grizzly Bear, Fleet Foxes

Sons of the East – Sons of the East [Metropolitan Groove Merchants]

Sons of the East is an Australian indie folk band made up of three surfers. With very unique vocals and great instrumentation, this EP is a amazing one and should be given a listen. Label: Metropolitan Groove Merchants Start w/ 1, 3, 5 FCC: Clean RIYL: Avett Brothers, The Head & the Hearts, Edward Sharpe […]

Sheridan Fox – Patagonia [Self-Released]

An indie/rock folk pop album that features some catchy lyrics and good instrumentation. Label: Self-Released Start w/ 4, 7, 8 FCC: 2 RIYL: Philip Glass

alt-J- “RELAXER” [Atlantic/ Canvasback]

Alt-J’s third album is just as eclectic and inspired as the first two, if not more. It’s hard to pin down the multitude of genres influencing the album, but there seems to be a folk inflection blended with alt-J’s typical synth-heavy style, especially in the tracks Adeline and Last Year. The album is definitely a […]

Mickey Hart – RAMU

Funky grooves throughout this album. Filled with exotic jams and ambient sounds. Each track is an adventure and unlike anything I have ever heard. FCC: Clean PLAY: 8,9,12

Ben Frost – The Centre Cannot Hold [Mute]

Ben Frost’s fifth studio album, The Centre Cannot Hold, was written in 10 days and features experimental electronic music. Frost’s uses heavy synth parts to create an album that could be used as the soundtrack to a sci-fi movie. Label: Mute STart w/ 2, 7, 10 FCC: Clean RIYL: Stranger Things Soundtrack, Tim Hecker, William Basinkski

The She’s – all female rock and roll quartet [Self-Released]

This all female garage rock band has put together a pretty awesome album, all female rock and roll quartet. Featuring sick guitar parts, awesome bass lines, and beautiful percussion, this album is a great listen. Label: Self-Released Start w/ 3, 4, 6, 11 FCC: 5 RIYL: Bully, Girlpool, Mitski, La Luz, Colleen Green

Lindstrom – It’s Alright Between Us As It Is [Self-Released]

Norwegian based artist, Lindstrom has created an amazing contemporary disco album. He uses beautiful arpeggiated synths and warm and beautiful melodies to create mostly instrumental music. The album as a whole is amazing. Label: Self-Released Start w/ 2, 4, 6 FCC: Clean RIYL: LCD Soundsytem, Hot Chip, The Field, Junior Boys, Four Tet

Vanessa Bley – Life & Death [Self-Released]

Multi-instrumentalist Vanessa Bley releases an album drawing influence from both jazz and rock. The combination of psych-rock and jazz somehow give an 80’s vibe on a few tracks. Overall this album is a great listen. Label: Self-released Start w/ 2, 3, 5 FCC: Clean RIYL: Beast Patrol, Twin Danger, Cocteau Twins, Mazzy Star

Nicholas Rowe – Everything Has Beauty [Self-Released]

Indie folk artist Nicholas Rowe shows he can write great music on this new album, Everything Has Beauty. Filled with striking vocals and excellent rhythms, this album is a great listening experience. Label: Sel-Released Start w/ 2, 4, 6 FCC: Clean RIYL: Kurt Vile, Jason Isbell, Deer Tick, M. Ward, Conor Oberst

Surf Rock Is Dead – We Have No Friends? [Native Sound]

This rock/dream pop album, We Have No Friends?, is full of quirky melodies, smooth vocals, and great guitars. The album title refers to their lack of social life and dedication to writing music. Label: Native Sound Start w/ 1, 5 FCC: 4 RIYL: Two Door Cinema Club, Tape Waves, Acid Ghost, Twin Cabins

Lina Tullgren – Won [Captured Tracks]

Lina Tullgren’s debut album, Won, is full of uniquely played guitar parts, honest lyrics, and amazing vocals. This folk rock album shows how musically skilled Tullgren is. Label: Captured Tracks Start w/ 1, 3, 6, 7 FCC: Clean RIYL: Courtney Barnett, Palehound, Soccer Mommy