Piles of Smiles – Seven Pillars of Shame (Self-released) [LOCAL]

The debut album from Piles of Smiles, the duo of Burlington’s Derrick Burt and Brooklyn’s Liam Wynne, is a dirty, fuzzy collection of homespun lo-fi rock tunes. Amid crushing distorted guitars and drums, off-kilter vocals deliver lyrics ranging from abstract imagery to clever slices of life. Fellow local musician Aida O’Brien contributes guitar and songwriting to a couple tracks. 

Track Picks: 2, 3, 8

FCC: 10

RIYL: Pavement, Swirlies, Guided By Voices, Ayden Flanigan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: