Mountain Dust – Seven Storms


Release date: May 18, 2018
Label: Relapse Records

Montreal’s Mountain Dust recently released an opus entitled Seven Storms. The band  differentiates themselves from many in the herd with diverse instrumentation and songwriting prowess. Seven Storms is rooted in heavy rock from the late ’60s and early ’70s; however, their sound also references spaghetti Westerns –  evoking both pain and triumph. White Bluffs  is a moody track full of blues riffs and great vocals that get heavy at times. Inside The Rift captivates the listener with creative storytelling and sonic energy and features a guest vocal appearance from Mikey Heppner (Priestess).  Stop Screaming is the final track and sets a dark mood with a nasty distant guitar, harmonica, and pedal steel. The vocal style starts out laid back but then evolves into something more epic. Some nice guitar parts and solos throughout the track, which has a very heavy ending.

Start with: 2, 4, & 9

FCC: Clean

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: