Angel Olsen – “My Woman”

Angel Olson is an indie-folk singer from St. Louis, Missouri and her last album Burn Your Fire For No Witness was one of my favorites to come out in 2013, so I didn’t think that she would be able to top it this time around, but man was I wrong. My Woman sees Olsen’s wonderful voice front and center, yet it is still so raw and powerful. Compared to her earlier stuff which was primarily folky, this album blends genres into the realm of dream-pop, indie-rock, folk, and others. Listening to this mad me upset that I had already committed to going to see Denzel Curry instead of her at Higher Ground.

LABEL: Jagjaguwar Records
PLAY: #1, 3, 7
FCC: Clean
RIYL: Julia Holter, Cass McCombs

Leave a Reply

