Esperanza Spaulding – Emily’s D+Evolution (Concord)

Bassist, composer and 4-time Grammy winner’s new project is a jazzy, soulful take on the power trio concept, with guitarist Matthew Stevens and drummer Karriem Riggins.  All original tunes featuring Spaulding singing lead with background singers and synth touches, evoking a cosmic soul version of the Black Rock Coalition channeling Hejira-era Joni Mitchell.  Produced by Bowie’s long-time collaborator, Tony Visconti.  Hearkens back to Spaulding’s school days — her middle name is Emily and apparently she was not exactly an A student.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: