Minus the Bear – Lost Loves

Lost Loves is a new collection of songs pulled from the sessions for Minus the Bear’s last 3 albums – 2008’s Planet of Ice, 2010’s OMNI, and 2012’s Infinity Overhead. This album is easily better than the last two of those three albums, and features some really great songs that mix math rock/prog rock with shimmering keyboards and pop sensibilities. Most of these songs are more rock oriented than most of the songs on those free albums. While Minus the Bear’s lyrics aren’t known to be one of their strong points, these lyrics in these songs are above average for them; there’s nothing as lyrically embarrassing as “My Time” or “Heaven is a Ghost Town”. Lost Loves is a must have for Minus the Bear fans, and still worth a listen for those not familiar with them.

Play: 2, 3, 4, 6, 10, ALL!

FCC: 1

RIYL: Foals, Pinback, Circa Survive

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: