What Horrors Await

Jungle Rot – “What Horrors Await”
released May 19, 2009 on Napalm

Metal, like all music, evolves over time, but there are always stalwarts who adhere to the past. Jungle Rot is a good example of no-frills, old-school American death metal in the vein of ObituaryDeicide, and Six Feet Under. However, this band has built their career almost exclusively on the atrocities of war. This is the brutal music of front-line grunts–mouths full of grit, spit, and blood–unapologetically marching ever forward. There vocals are well enunciated, so the full effect of their music is driven that much deeper, and end up more memorable than one would expect (though a bit overdone at times, like when series of words end in “-tion” … yes, humans can die in many ways, we know). If you like death metal to feel like a punch in the guts, these are your guys!

FCC: 5, 7, 9, 14
Try 1, 3, 4, 8, 10, 12

01. Worst Case Scenerio
02. The Unstopable
03. Straitjacket Life
04. State of War
05. Two Faced Disgrace
06. End of an Age
07. Speak the Truth
08. What Horrors Await
09. Nerve Gas Catastrophe
10. Braindead
11. Atrocity
12. Exit Wounds
13. Invincible Force (Destruction cover)
14. Black Candle Mass

Rating: ★★★½☆

%d bloggers like this: