Pray For Villains

DevilDriver – “Pray For Villains”
released July 14, 2009 on Roadrunner

If there’s one thing this band has going for them, it’s ramping up the heaviness with each album, playing faster and tighter without sacrificing the hooks that still make them accessible. Recorded, mixed and mastered by Logan Mader (ex-Machine Head, ex-Soulfly)–who also worked on the recent Gojira and Cavalera Conspiracy albums–it thrashes as hard as it grooves with a full, clear production. Dez’s voice is maturing well, his rich growl enunciating better than ever (and spouting lyrics with 50% less swearing). Though it may be their strongest album to date, it’s still not without flaw. The clichés can get a bit old (4, 11, 12) and some may not approve of their new use of synths in places (I think it adds much-needed dimension), but this shows that the band’s dogged desire to distance itself from the taint of their vocalist’s nü-metal past is staunchly unwavering.

FCC: 2, 6, 7, 9, 10 (we have clean versions)
Try 1, 2, 3, 5, 9

01. Pray For Villains
02. Pure Sincerity
03. Fate Stepped In
04. Back With A Vengeance
05. I’ve Been Sober
06. Resurrection Blvd.
07. Forgiveness Is A Six Gun
08. Waiting For November
09. It’s In The Cards
10. Another Night In London
11. Bitter Pill
12. Teach Me To Whisper
13. I See Belief

Rating: ★★★½☆

%d bloggers like this: