From Hell To Texas

Nashville Pussy – “From Hell To Texas”
released February 17, 2009 by SPV/Steamhammer

Chicken-fried, bourbon-steeped, American sleaze boogie that sounds like the truckstop-fuck love child of Motörhead and Reverend Horton Heat. These guys and gals live hard, rock harder, and tour hardest, delivering the dirty goods with a wink and a sneer.  Their fifth album shows no signs of slowing down, and holy balls is it fun!  Frontman Blaine Cartwright’s nasty rasp is well balanced by the backup vocals of wife/lead guitarist Ruyter Suys (a nearly unsung guitar heroine in her own right) & bassist Karen Cuda (who finds a sweet pocket in nearly every tune). Somehow, all this debauchery is wrangled together by Jeremy Thompson’s drumwork.  You’d be hard pressed to find a band that does this better.

FCC: 2, 5, 12
Try 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11

01. Speed Machine
02. From Hell To Texas
03. Drunk Driving Man
04. Lazy Jesus
05. I’m So High
06. Ain’t Your Business
07. Dead Men Can’t Get Drunk
08. Late Great USA
09. Pray for The Devil
10. Why Why Why
11. Stone Cold Down
12. Give Me A Hit Before I Go

Rating: ★★★★☆

%d bloggers like this: